Contact newsdesk on:

Classified adverts   I   Jobs                               

Small Ads & Local Services   


Hebrides News



This year’s Donald Stewart Memorial Trust competition has been launched.


The trust which commemorates the outstanding work of the late Donald Stewart MP makes an annual award to an individual senior Western Isles pupil for outstanding achievement.


This could have been attained at school or in their own community, perhaps an act of community service, bravery or other self-sacrifice.


All four secondary schools in the Western Isles are invited to make nominations.


The 2017 award was won by Catriona Bain from Lewis.


Meanwhile, Uilleam Macdonald, Lesley Graham, and Iain MacAulay have joined the trust while Murdo Macleod and Philip McLean have retired.


Margaret Martin and Calum Iain Macleod are the other two members. At its recent meeting Margaret Martin was appointed chairperson.


Nominations sought for inspiring pupil award

6 March 2018